Church of St. Catherine of Alexandria
Augustiańska 7


Arias and Ouvertures from Metastasio’s Passione di Cristo 

Johann Georg Pisendel

- Sonata skrzypcowa c-moll – Adagio

Antonio Caldara – Passione di Gesù Cristo (Wien 1730)

- Introduzione

- Recitativo: Dove son? Dove corro?

- Aria (Pietro): Giacchè mi tremi in seno

Niccolò Jommelli – Passione di Gesù Cristo (Roma 1749)

            - Ouverture

            - Aria (Giovanni): Come a vista di pene si Fiere

Johann Georg Pisendel

- Sonata orkiestrowa c-moll

Filippo Benna

            - Sonata f-moll na skrzypce i basso continuo

Johann Georg Pisendel

            - Aria G-dur ze zbioru 6 Entracts for Orchestra

Stanislao Mattei – Passione di Gesù Cristo (Bologna 1792)

            - Aria (Maddalena): Ai passi erranti

Alessandro Scarlatti

            - Concerto grosso F-dur

Diego Naselli – Passione di Gesù Cristo (London 1772?)

- Aria (Giovanni): Come a vista di pene

Antonio Vivaldi

- Stabat Mater

Pietro Metastasio (1698-1782) was the most influencial poeta per musica and libretto writer of the entire 18th century. Immediately after his transfer to Vienna in 1730 as poeta cesareo at the Imperial Court, he was asked by the Emperor Charles VI to write a text on La Passione di Gesù Cristo, set to music by Antonio Caldara and performed during the Holy Week that year in the Hofburgkapelle.

Metastasio’s text marks a departure from the popular tradition setting the actual Gospel passion narratives to a more theatrical approach, and introduces four characters as in an opera production: St John, Mary Magdalene and Joseph of Arimateaanswering St Peter's questions about the crucifixion. Metastasio’s Passione di Cristo became one of the most successful oratorio texts for more than hundred years, set to music by eminent composers such as Nicolò Conti (1739), Nicolò Jommelli (1749), Josef Mysliveček (1773), Pietro Maria Crispi (1775), Francesco Baldassarre Uttini and Antonio Salieri (1776), Stanislao Mattei (1792), and Francesco Morlacchi (1812). Using excerpts of the scores by those masters (once performed all around Europe, from Vienna to Dresden, from Rome to Bologna to London), the concert of La Passione reconstructs a “pasticcio” of vibrant intensity and dramatic impact.


Sonia Prina – contralto

{oh!} Orkiestra Historyczna – ensemble 

Martyna Pastuszka – leader 

*The concert program has changed