Church of the Holy Cross
Św. Krzyża 23


Alfabeto falso

Giovanni Paolo Foscarini – Gagliarda francese

Giovanni Paolo Foscarini – Passacaglio sopra la O

Giovanni Paolo Foscarini – Aria di Firenze per la A e C

Hieronimus Kapsberger – Toccata II

Hieronimus Kapsberger – Sfessania

Hieronimus Kapsberger – Passacaglia

Hieronimus Kapsberger – Colascione

Antonio Carbonchi – Scaramanzie

Antonio Carbonchi – Mariona

Angelo Michele Bartolotti – Passacaglia per la D

Francesco Corbetta – Passacaglia per la X

Alessandro Piccinini – Partite sopra l’aria francese detta l’alemana

Gaspar Sanz – Jacaras

Santiago de Murcia – Folias gallegas

Santiago de Murcia – Zarambeques o Muecas

Santiago de Murcia – Cumbées

Santiago de Murcia – Tarantelas


The treatise by Girolamo Montesardo, dating back to 1606, revolutionised guitar music, since it proposed writing down guitar music in the form of a practical tablature, with lines corresponded to individual strings, using a sequence of chords and a notation that did not use notes, but letters (“alfabeto”) to mark sounds. Thanks to this new, simplified notation system, everyone could mimic the position of their fingers on the neck without knowing the commonly used notation, making guitar-playing accessible to amateurs. This resulted in a flood of releases containing favourite melodies and dances. A pinch of melancholy in passacaglias, frenetic tarantelles, cheerful jácaras – the I Bassifondi ensemble will recreate a spontaneous music session that one could stumble upon in Italy in the 17th century, filled with panache and unbridled energy.


I Bassifondi – ensemble

Simone Vallerotonda – theorbo, baroque guitar, leader