Church of the Holy Cross
Św. Krzyża 23


Giaches de Wert – Passione secondo San Marco

First part 

Amante Franzoni – Due sinfonie a otto

Giaches de Wert – Amen, amen dico vobis: Prima pars

Luca Marenzio – Iniquos odio habui

Giaches de Wert – Non turbetur cor vestrum (Paraclitus autem Spiritus Sanctus: Secunda pars)

Luca Marenzio – Antequam comedam: Prima pars

Giaches de Wert – Peccavi super numerum: Prima pars

Giaches de Wert – Tamquam ovis: Prima pars

Second part 

Salamone Rossi – Sinfonia Undecima e Sinfonia grave

Luca Marenzio – Deus venerunt gente

Giaches de Wert – O Crux ave, spes unica

Giaches de Wert – Quiescat vox tua: Prima pars

Giaches de Wert – O altitudo divitiarum


Giaches de Wert, composer of Flemish origins, played a leading role in the music of the late Renaissance, yet, he has not enjoyed the same fame over the centuries as some of his contemporaries such as Luca Marenzio and Orlando di Lasso. De Wert moved to Northern Italy as a young man and worked mainly for the Gonzaga court in Mantua as a composer and maestro di cappella in the Palatine Basilica of Santa Barbara. He had also close relations with the d'Este court in Ferrara, probably the most progressive musical centre of the Italian Renaissance. His prolific output, both in secular and sacred music, contains some of the most exciting and innovative music of the 16th century.

The programme of the concert by Voces Suaves was conceived by imagining an oratorio dedicated to the Passion of Christ with music entirely by Giaches de Wert, as it may have been performed in Mantua in the late 16th century. The core of the oratorio is formed by the Passio secundum Marcus for 5 voices by de Wert composed for the Holy Week services at the Basilica of Santa Barbara. To complement the narration of the Passion story, Voces Suaves wish to include musical commentaries, creating a structure siilar to that used by Johann Sebastian Bach, for example. For this purpose the artists chose a selection of motets for 5 and 6 voices by de Wert as well as a few instrumental pieces by his contemporaries who also worked as composers at the Basilica of Santa Barbara in Mantua. This resulted in a brilliant reconstruction of the true sound of the end of Italian Renaissance.


Voces Suaves – ensemble & choir 

Concerto Scirocco – ensemble