Early Music Day: Playing the classics

17 March / Church of St. Martin in Kraków, 56 Grodzka Street
Navigatio mors – Passion concert

Responsoria by Carlo Gesualdo is a collection of music for Holy Week published in 1611. The prince of Venosa composed nine pieces for a six-voice a cappella ensemble to be performed on Maundy Thursday, Good Friday and Easter Saturday. They followed the liturgical format of the Tenebrae.

Gesualdo used techniques he also applied in madrigals, such as expressive dissonances and chromatic language – something which was highly unusual at the time. Tenebrae and Renaissance traditions are explored by Paweł Łukaszewski whose individual style focuses on contemporary sacral music. The programme also features an interpretation of Psalm 51 Miserere mei, popularised in the early 17th century by Gregorio Allegri. This time we will hear a version of Miserere penned by Sir James MacMillan whose style has been influenced by his Scottish heritage, Catholic faith and Celtic music.


Carlo Gesualdo da Venosa
“Responsoria et alia ad Officium Hebdomadae Sanctae spectantia”:
– Tristis est anima mea
– O vos omnes
– Ecce quomodo moritur iustus
– Astiterunt reges terrae
– Aestimatus sum

Paweł Łukaszewski
“Responsoria Tenebrae”
– Tenebrae factae sunt
– Caligaverunt oculi mei

James McMillan
“Miserere” (psalm 51)


Polish Radio Choir


Magdalena Kaczmarek – soprano
Aleksandra Szerocka – soprano
Agnieszka Dynek – alt
Matylda Staśto – Kotuła – alt
Krzysztof Michalski – tenor
Dawid Bonk – tenor
Piotr Brajner – bass
Krzysztof Kmieć – bass
Maria Piotrowska – Bogalecka – conductor

The concert is held as part of the Polish Radio Choir’s cycle of musical dedications.

Concert with a live audience. Tickets are priced 20 zlotys and available online from www.bilety24.pl


21 March / Potocki Palace

Consort Viol da Gamba of the Academy of Music in Kraków brings together students and graduates in viola da gamba at the school. The ensemble’s artistic director is maestro of the instrument Mateusz Kowalski.

The group performs 16th- and 17th-century music on copies of original soprano, tenor and bass gambas crafted by lutenists at home and abroad, including Adam Banasik, Matthew Farley and Judith Kraft.


  • Sylwia Heinrich, Agata Sanches-Martos, Rafał Gorczyński – bass viola da gamba
  • Mateusz Kowalski – tenor and bass viola da gamba, artistic direction



David Funck (1648-1701)
Suita g-moll (Stricturæ viola-di gambicæ, Lipsk, 1677)
Intrad – Allemande – Courant – Sarabande – Air – Ballo – Lamento – Gigue

Orlando di Lasso (1532-1594)
Bicinium nr 22 (Novae… Cantiones Suavissime, Monachium, 1577)
Duet: Sylwia Heinrich, Rafał Gorczyński

Suita d-moll 
(Manuskrypt Paryski, Fn Res 1111, Brandenburgia, poł. XVII w.)
Prelude – Allemande – Courante – Saraband – Gigue – Passalia
Solo: Mateusz Kowalski

Orlando di Lasso
Bicinium nr 24

David Funck
Suita G-dur
Sonatina – Almanda – Courant – Aria – Saraband – Bransle – Intrada – Volta




The vocal and instrumental ensemble of students at the Academy of Music in Kraków specialises in playing period instruments and performing vocal compositions of the Renaissance and Baroque. They are led by the lutenist Anna Wiktoria Swoboda.



  • Zuzanna Kozłowska – soprano
  • Piotr Windak – tenor
  • Sylwia Heinrich – viola da gamba
  • Przemysław Józef Bałka – bass, theorbo

Programme (ca. 20 min.):

  • Josquin des Prez – Mille Regretz
  • Clement Janequin – Toutes les nuits
  • Michel Lambert – Ombre de mon amant
  • André Campra – Tota pulchra es amica mea


The Cracow Recorder Consort is led by Katarzyna Czubek and Erik Bosgraaf from the Academy of Music in Kraków. The ensemble specialises in 16th- and 17th-century music, playing copies of Renaissance instruments made by Adrian Brown and Monika Musch.


  • Katarzyna Czubek – art. dir.
  • Anna Rozália Kis
  • Julie Kučerová
  • Zsófia Sánta
  • Júlia Kaposi


Programme (ca. 20 min.):

Anthony Holborne (1545-1602), dances from the collection Pavans, Galliards, Almains and other Short Aeirs (1599):

  • Bona Speranza
  • The Fairie-round
  • The Fruit of Love
  • The Tears of the Muses
  • The Image of Melancholy
  • Ecce quam bonum


Cracow Recorder Consort + soprano, tenor and bass (seven musicians)

  • Jacob Arcadelt – madrigal Il dolce e bianco cigno



Online retransmission of the Passion concert Navigatio mors

Tickets priced 20 zlotys and streaming available from playkrakow.com